What is the Data Deletion Service?
A single applicant can be deleted from Onfido’s production environment by calling our Data Deletion endpoint along with the applicant’s unique identifier.
Sending a deletion request adds the applicant and all associated documents, photos, videos, checks, and reports to our deletion queue. After deletion, applicant details cannot be recovered or queried, and Onfido will not be able to carry out any troubleshooting. Within the delay period, the applicant can be restored.
*Deleting an applicant that does not have an associated check will immediately delete the applicant and any resources.
**All other personal data processed by Onfido (including personal data processed for backup and logging purposes) or on behalf of Onfido (including personal data processed by third parties) is deleted in accordance with Onfido’s Records of Processing.
Who can delete an Applicant?
Only users with permission levels of 'Owner' and 'Admin' are allowed to delete Applicants on the Dashboard.
Deletion requests can also be performed through the API, please see our API Documentation on Data Deletion here.